2022 RSV Fellows Appointed

This month we welcome new Fellows to provide knowledge leadership across four sectors, representing the first round of recruitment by the RSV towards establishing a new College for Science and Society to help guide our activities, provide appropriate spokespeople to represent formal positions and establish effective partnerships across the sectors to win progress towards aligned goals. Our Fellows will be leading our forthcoming Forum on Biodiversity Conservation and Recovery in June.

New RSV Trustees Appointed

We are delighted to announce that Governor-in-Council (the Governor and Premier of Victoria) have appointed two new Trustees of the Royal Society of Victoria as of 1 March 2022 in keeping with the terms of our Crown Grant of 1883. Please congratulate Dr Gillian Sparkes AM, Commissioner for Environmental Sustainability, and Professor Timothy Entwisle, Director and Chief Executive of Royal Botanic Gardens Victoria, on commencing as Trustees for the land and buildings of the RSV.

Vale Bernie Joyce

Bernie was a geologist and geomorphologist specialising in landslides and volcanism, especially in the Newer Volcanics Province of Western Victoria, where he worked to map the regolith landforms that tell the story of Victoria’s past while determining future volcanic risk. He applied his expertise to the neotectonics of South-Eastern Australia, the recently-active and active volcanoes of the Pacific region, and the morphotectonics of the Central Victorian Highlands.

RSV Council Election Results 2021-23

We are delighted to see a mix of the new and familiar from our late 2020 call for nominations for members of our governing Council. As none of the available positions were contested, our Returning Officer (Dr William Birch AM MRSV) has declared the these RSV members elected to these roles for a two year period, commencing from the next Annual General Meeting (set for May 2021). Our thanks to these members for their willingness to lead the Society and shape its future; we wish everyone every success during their tenure. Current Officers and Councillors of the Society will continue in their roles until they variously expire at the Annual General Meetings set for 2021 and 2022, including our incumbent President David Zerman, who will continue on the leadership team as our Immediate Past President following the May AGM.

2020 RSV Fellows Appointed

I am delighted to advise the RSV Council Meeting of 27 February, 2020 unanimously agreed to appoint four leaders in the Victorian science community as Fellows of the Royal Society of Victoria.

Being elected a Fellow is the highest membership honour the Society can bestow on a person and entitles the Fellow to use of the postnominals ‘FRSV.’ Our four new Fellows will be formally inducted as part of the Society’s Annual General Meeting program which will be held on Thursday 14 May between 5 and 8pm. Members, please mark this event in your diary. You will receive an invitation with full details, including an address by Professor Marilyn Renfree AO, in late March.

On behalf of your Council, please join me in congratulating our four new Fellows.