Elected Fellows of the Royal Society of Victoria

In 1995, the Council of the Royal Society of Victoria inaugurated a Fellowship program to recognise those who have made an outstanding and widely-recognised contribution to science and technology in Victoria. In 2017, the RSV Fellowship was reframed around “an outstanding contribution to science and the Australian science community.”

Our distinguished Fellows can be recognised by the attribution of the post-nominal ‘FRSV,’ and are listed below:


Mr Rob Gell AM with Professor Brendan Wintle FRSV

Professor Brendan Wintle, BForSc(Hons), PhD, FRSV

For his intersectoral leadership in defining the nature and scope of biodiversity decline in Australia, developing clear, tractable measures for governments to halt and reverse damage to Australian ecosystems and threatened species, and the historic establishment of an Australian Biodiversity Council to foster better public understanding, collaboration and action on the biodiversity crisis.

Ms Judith Downes, BA (Hons), DipEd, GradDipBus (Acct), FAICD, FCPA, FCA, FRSV

For her outstanding development of the Maths Olympiad program in Victoria for students with high potential, her commitment to promoting positive environmental and social impact practices in the finance sector, her business leadership of clean energy and medical diagnostic device companies, and her global leadership in driving the agenda for the Global Alliance for Banking on Values Governing Board Forum.

Mr Damein Bell, GDipNatResMgt, FRSV

For his leadership of the Gunditj Mirring Aboriginal Corporation, his contribution to the UNESCO World Heritage listing of the Budj Bim Cultural Landscape, his commitment to the health of the lands and water of Gundijtmara Country through establishing Indigenous Protected Areas and stewarding new governance programs for environmental water, and to the wellbeing of Indigenous Australians.

Ms Fern Hames PSM, BSc(Hons), GCertAustRurLeadership, FRSV

For her contributions to the communication and public understanding of environmental science, the leadership of globally significant environmental research efforts conducted within the Victorian government’s Arthur Rylah Institute, and the leadership development of other women in Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics and Medicine through the Homeward Bound initiative.


Dr Peter Baines, BA(Hons), BSc, PhD, FRSV

For his contribution to the geophysical sciences, to global scientific societies, to the development of our understanding of stratified fluid dynamics, the oceanography of Australian waters, the complex interactions of the global climate system, and to the leadership of the Royal Society of Victoria.

Dr William Birch AM, BSc(Hons), PhD, FRSV

For his contributions to the public understanding of the geology of southeastern Australia, to the study of Victorian minerals and gemstones, to the publication of the work of Victorian scientists, and to the leadership of the Royal Society of Victoria.

Professor Rachel Webster AO, BSc, MSc, PhD, FAA, FRSV

For her leadership of Australian research in the field of astrophysics, her contributions to the advancement of early career researchers, and to the engagement with astronomy by students in regions experiencing disadvantage.

Mrs Nicola Williams, BSc, DipEd, MSC, FRACI, FRSV

For her contributions to the teaching of chemistry, to the history of science and mineral exploration in Australia, and to the leadership of the Royal Society of Victoria.


Dr Tom Beer AO, DSc, MSc, BSc, PhD, FRSV
Professor Jenny Graves AO, BSc, MSc, PhD, FAA, FRSV
Professor Pauline Ladiges AO, DipEd, MSc, PhD, FAA, FRSV
Dr Peter Thorne AM, BSc, PhD, DipPubPol, HonDEng, FACS, FRSV
Inducted 4 May, 2021

Professor Sandra Rees, BSc, MSc, MPhil, PhD, ScD, FRSV
Inducted 9 May, 2019

Professor Lynne Selwood AO, MSc, PhD, FRSV
Inducted 26th April, 2018

Laureate Professor Peter C Doherty AC, BVSc, MVSc, PhD, FRS, FMedSci, FRSV
Inducted 27th April, 2017

Professor Milton T W Hearn, BSc(Hons), PhD, DSc. FRSV
Inducted 10th March, 2011

Professor David V Boger, BSc, MSc, PhD, FRSV
Inducted 13th March, 2008

Dr Hilary J Harrington (1924 – 2015), MSc, DPhil, FGeioSocAust, FAusIMM, FGeolSocAses, FRSV 
Dr Murray J Littlejohn, BSc, MSc, PhD, FAAAS, FRSV
Both inducted 10th November, 2005

Dr Thomas A Darragh, BSc, DipEd, PhD, FRSV
Dr Joyce Richardson (1925 – 2019), MA, PhD, FRSV
Both inducted 11th November, 2004

Dr Yvonne Aitken AM (1911 – 2004), DAgSc, FRSV
Dr Martin R Harris, BSc(Hons), VEW, TSTC(DipEd), FRSV
The Hon Dr Barry O Jones AO, LLB, MA, FAA, FASSA, FTSE, FACE, FRSV
Professor John F Lovering AO (1930 – 2023), FAA, FTSE, FRSV
All inducted 10th October, 2002

Professor James Bowler AM, MSc, PhD, FRSV
Emeritus Professor Nancy F Millis (1922 – 2012), AC, MBE, BAgSc, MAgSc, PhD, FRSV

Both inducted 8th June, 2000

Professor Jerry M Adams, BSc, PhD, FAA, FRS, FRSV
Dr Clive K Coogan AM (1925 – 2005), BSc, MSc, PhD, IRSA, FTSE, FAIP, FRSV
Professor Suzanne Cory AC, BSc, MSc, PhD, FAA, FRS, FRSV
Professor Emeritus Sir Gustav Nossal AC, CBE, BSc, MB, PhD, FRS, FRCPL, FRCPA, FRACOG, FRACP, FRACMA, FRSE, FAA, FTSE, FRSV
Sir Arvi Parbo (1926 – 2019) AC, BEng, FTSE, FRSV
Dr Graeme I Pearman AM, BSc(Hon), PhD, FAA, FTSE, FRSV
Emeritus Professor John A Talent, BA, MSc, PhD, FRSV
All inducted 9th October, 1997

1995 – Foundation Fellows
Dr David H Ashton, PhD, FRSV
Dr Herbert H Bolotin, MSc, PhD, DSc, FRSV
Mr Dewar W Goode AM FRSV
Dr Phillip G Law AC, CBE, MSc, HonPhD, FAA, FTSE, FRSV
All inducted 12th October, 1995