Founded in 1854, three years after Victoria’s separation from New South Wales, all the scientific aspects of the planning of Melbourne happened at The Royal Society of Victoria. To learn about the history of the Royal Society of Victoria a short version is available here or a more detailed version here.

The list of Presidents of the Royal Society of Victoria reads like a Who’s Who of Victorian science and scientists in this state over the past century and a half.

Our heritage building at 8 La Trobe Street is fascinating. Learn more about our building’s history here.

The commercialization of science is celebrated each year with the J E Cummins OBE Oration.  But who was J E Cummins?

At a joint meeting with the Geological Society of Australia (Vic), the legacy of 19th century polymath Alfred W Howitt is celebrated.  Find out more about Howitt here.