Caroline McMillen – RSV Vice-President

Professor Caroline McMillen AO served in the role as Chief Scientist for South Australia for 5 years between 2018 and 2023 after serving as Vice-Chancellor of the University of Newcastle, NSW for 7 years between 2011 and 2018. She also served in senior executive roles at the University of Adelaide and the University of South Australia prior to her move to Newcastle.

She has been awarded the Award of Officer of Australia (AO), an Honorary Doctorate by the University of Adelaide and is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences, and of the Royal Society of NSW and is a Bragg Member of the Royal Institution of Australia. She holds a BA (Physiological Sciences First Class Honours) and D.Phil. from the University of Oxford. She completed her medical training (MB, BChir) from the University of Cambridge.

Professor McMillen serves as a Non-Executive Director or Member on industry, technology and innovation related Boards and Councils including Home in Place Pty Ltd, DMTC, the Immune Deficiency Foundation of Australia (IDFA) and the Royal Institution of Australia. She also serves as the Ministerial representative of the Government of Australia on the Council of the University of the South Pacific and is a member of the Australian Japan Foundation Board.

She has previously served on a range of science, technology, innovation and industry related Boards and Council including the Boards of the Cooperative Research Centre (CRC) for Advanced Automotive Technology, the CRC for Rail Innovation and the South Australia Medical Research Institute.

Professor McMillen is an active champion for science, innovation and technology, particularly for girls and women in science and she was a Member of the Expert Advisory Group for Science in Australia and Gender Equity (SAGE). Throughout her career she has led and facilitated collaborations which focus on delivering a positive impact on the economic, social and cultural health of Australia. She was particularly honoured at the end of her term as Vice-Chancellor to be presented with the Key to the City of Newcastle by the Lord Mayor of Newcastle.

She was appointed as Vice-President of the Royal Society of Victoria by its governing Council in April 2024.