RSV Medal for Excellence in Scientific Research – Past Winners

Since 1959, the Royal Society’s Medal for Excellence in Scientific Research has been awarded in a field which rotates through the disciplines of Biological Sciences (Non-human), Earth Sciences, Human Health or Medical Sciences and the Physical Sciences. This page records our past awardees; details of the current year’s nominations process are at

Past winners of the Royal Society Medal for Excellence in Scientific Research are:

2023 Category III: Earth Sciences. Opens on 31 March 2023
2021 Prof Andrew Ball 2022 Prof Rachelle Buchbinder
2019 Prof Andrew Pitman AO 2020 Prof Bronwyn Fox
2017 Prof Trevor Lithgow 2018 Prof Anthony Burkitt & Prof Jamie Rossjohn
2015 Prof David Karoly 2016 Prof Lloyd Hollenberg
2013 Prof Mark Burgman 2014 Prof Jane Visvader
2011 Adj Prof John Long 2012 Prof Frank Caruso
2009 Prof Geoffrey McFadden 2010 Prof Levon Khachigian
2007 Prof Matthew England 2008 Prof Steven Prawer
2005 Prof Pauline Y. Ladiges 2006 Prof Samuel F. Berkovic
2003 Prof Peter L. Dyson 2004 No award
2001 Prof Alan F. Cowman 2002 Assoc Prof Brian Finlayson
1999 Prof Alan M. Bond 2000 Dr Prem L. Bhalla
1997 Prof Henry G. Burger 1998 No award
1995 Dr Paul A. Pearce 1996 Prof Bruce E. Kemp
1993 Dr David Beardsell 1994 Prof Andrew Gleadow
1991 Dr G.E. Williams 1992 Prof Thomas W. Healy
1989 Prof Herbert H Bolotin & Dr P Hannaford 1990 Dr N. Gough
1987 Assoc Prof D.B. Webby 1988 Dr J.M. Powell
1985 Prof D.V. Boger & Dr P.M. Colman 1986 Dr S.J. Redman
1983 Prof A.A. Powell & Prof P.B. Dixon 1984 Prof A.E. Ringwood
1981 Dr R.D.B. Fraser 1982 Dr G.F. Mitchell
1979 Prof M.J.D. White 1980 Dr J.M. Bowler
1977 Dr W.F. Budd, Prof R.D. Brown & Prof B.H.J. McKellar 1978 No Award
1975 Prof R. Taft 1976 Prof R.L. Specht
1973 Dr D. Metcalf & Dr J.H. Willis 1974 Dr A.W. Snyder
1971 Prof A. Baklien & Dr B. Dawson 1972 Prof C.D. Rowley
1969 Dr J.S. Deeble & Dr R.B. Scotton 1970 Prof G. Burnstock
1967 Mr E.D. Gill 1968 Dr A. Walsh
1965 Prof K.E. Bullen 1966 No Award
1963 Prof D.J. Mulvaney 1964 Prof Sir Gustav Nossal
1961 No Award 1962 No Award
1959 Dr G. Baker 1960 No Award