Congratulations to Young Scientist Research Prize winners

2014 Young Scientist finalists

An audience of over seventy Members and guests were inspired, educated and entertained by the Finalists in the 2014 Young Scientist Research Prize oral presentations on 25th September.  Results were as follows:

Biological (non-human)

Winner – Kylie Soanes

Australian Research Centre for Urban Ecology, Royal Botanic Gardens Melbourne

“Bridging the road-gap for wildlife”

Runner up – Yin Ying Ho

ARC Centre of Excellence in Plant Cell Walls and Bio21

“Post-translational modifications of CSLF6, the major catalytic sub-unit of (1,3;1,4)-B-Glucan (mixed linkage Glucan) synthase of cereals”

Biomedical & Health Sciences

Winner – Bevan Main

Dept of Pharmacology and Therapeutics, University of Melbourne, Parkville, Victoria, 3052.

“Targeting  type-1 interferon signalling is neuroprotective in the MPTP mouse model of Parkinson`s disease.”

Runners up

Matthias Koenning

Department of Anatomy and Neuroscience, University of Melbourne, Victoria 3010

“Myelin Regulatory Factor: A key regulator of myelin maintenance and its molecular mechanism.

 Aliki Rasmiena

Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry, and Health Sciences, The University of Melbourne, Parkville, Victoria, Australia; Baker IDI Heart and Diabetes Institute, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

“Attenuation of atherosclerosis by plasmalogen enrichment: an animal study.”

Physical Sciences

Winner – Jacqueline Delaney

Department of Chemistry, La Trobe Institute for Molecular Science, La Trobe University

“Low-Cost Sensing for Everyone”

Runner up – Sharmen Rajendran

Dept of Chemical Engineering, Monash University

“Chemical looping combustion of Victorian brown coal with inherent CO2 capture and H2 generation”