Young Scientist Research Prizes Competition: Presentations, Judging and Prize Ceremony

Earth Sciences:

Owen Missen – Monash University

Kimberley Reid – The University of Melbourne

Biological (non-human) Sciences:

Sike Li – Monash University

Sarah McDonald – The University of Melbourne

Physical Sciences:

Sumaiya Kabir – RMIT University

Mark Vidallon – Monash University

Biomedical & Health Sciences:

Lauren Bleakley – The University of Melbourne

Ronnie Low – The University of Melbourne

Scaling Australian Manufacturing through Digital Platforms

Professor Bronwyn Fox
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research and Enterprise), Swinburne University of Technology

Young Scientist Research Prizes Competition: Presentations, Judging and Prize Ceremony

Earth Sciences:
Mr Hayden Dalton, School of Earth Sciences, The University of Melbourne
Ms Megan Withers, School of Earth, Atmosphere & Environment, Monash University

Biological (non-human) Sciences:
Ms Charlene Trestrail, School of Science, RMIT University
Mr Martin Estermann, Department of Anatomy & Developmental Biology, Monash University

Physical Sciences:
Mr Majid Laleh, School of Engineering, Deakin University
Ms Adele Goodwin, School of Physics & Astronomy, Monash University

Biomedical & Health Sciences:
Mr Roshan Selvaratnam, Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology, Monash University
Ms Lakshanie Wickramasinghe, Faculty of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences, Monash University

The 2019 RSV Research Medal Lecture & 160th Anniversary Dinner

Members are invited to commemorate 160 years since the official opening of the Royal Society of Victoria’s Hall on 10th December, 1859 by Sir Henry Barkly, Governor of Victoria.

The evening will begin with the presentation of the Society’s Medal for Excellence in Scientific Research, now in its sixtieth year, to the 2019 Medallist (to be announced shortly), and the Medallist’s Lecture. Following the presentation, members and their guests will celebrate an outstanding year of science engagement with Victorian communities at a special cocktail dinner function, featuring short presentations from our President and a small selection of the RSV’s many wonderful partners and collaborators.

Climate Extremes: Present and Future

Professor Andy Pitman
Director, ARC Centre of Excellence for Climate Extremes